Zambezi Watercourse Commission

ZAMCOM is the river basin commission for the Zambezi Basin established under an agreement between the Angola, the Botswana, the Mozambique, the Namibia, the Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Malawi has not signed this agreement.

The agreement is conscious of the rewards of regional co-operation, scarcity and the value of water resources in the Southern African region. The ZAMCOM agreement recognises the Zambezi Watercourse as the main water resource in the region.  It is committed to fair utilisation and desires efficient management and maintaining cordial relations between the countries.

The purpose of the Commission is to promote equal and sensible utilization of the water resources and the efficient management and sustainable development of the Zambezi Watercourse.The Council of Ministers, the Technical Committee and the Secretariat are the organs entrusted to authorise the functions of the Commission.

The functions of the Commission include collecting, evaluating and distributing all data and information on the Zambezi Watercourse.  It must also promote, support, coordinate and synergise the management and development of the water resources of the Zambezi Watercourse and advise Member States on the management and conservation of the watercourse - plus measures necessary for effective dispute management.

 The implementation of the outlined functions of the Commission is governed by the Member States committing to the following guiding principles: The principles of sustainable utilization; prevention of harm; precaution; inter-generational equity; assessment of trans-frontier impact; co-operation; equitable and reasonable utilisation.